FMA (Fellow-Mentor-Advisor)

SystemX is continuing Stanford’s successful tradition, pioneered by John Linvill, former director of CIS (SystemX’s predecessor) of “FMA” (Fellow-Mentor-Advisor) relationships. A member company supports research by a Stanford Ph.D. student Fellow, who interacts closely with an expert Mentor from the company to conduct advanced research into an area of mutual interest under the guidance of a faculty Advisor. More than 30 years later, FMAs have become the model for university-corporate partnerships. SystemX can set up a new FMA research relationship with any professor at Stanford whose research falls within our general areas of interest.

Last year's FMA students participated in presentations and presented posters at the 2023 Fall Conference. Login is required to view poster PDFs and recordings.

 

Current academic year FMA Projects (2022-2023):

Methods for Distributed Optimization

Parth Nobel

Fellow:

Parth Talpur Nobel

Advisor:

Prof. Stephen Boyd, EE
Stephen.Boyd@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Measurements and modeling of uTEGs and TE films' as well as 'design and thermal modeling of a wearable heat flux sensor for body core temperature measurement'

Heungdong Kwon

Fellow:

Wyatt Moy and Heungdong Kwon

Advisor:

Prof. Ken Goodson, ME
goodson@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Scene Understanding

Yunzhi Zhang

Fellow:

Yunzhi Zhang

Advisor:

Prof. Jiajun Wu, CS
jiajunwu@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Embedded PPG based AFIB Detection

Samiya Shimly

Fellow:

Samiya Shimly

Advisor:

Prof. Euan Ashley, Med/Cardiovascular Medicine
euan@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Bio Interfaces

Learning and control on nonlinear coupled dynamical systems

Andrei Kanavalau

Fellow:

Andrei Kanavalau

Advisor:

Prof. Sanjay Lall, EE
lall@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Inverse design and characterization multilayer photonics

Geun Ho Ahn

Fellow:

Geun Ho Ahn

Advisor:

Prof. Jelena Vuckovic, EE
jela@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonic and Quantum Technologies

Electrical transport in LaSrMnO3 (LSMO) films

Fellow:

Mahnaz Islam & Koosha Nassiri Nazif

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE & MSE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Mixed-Signal Deep Neural Networks

Rohan Doshi

Fellow:

Rohan Doshi

Advisors:

Prof. Mark Horowitz, EE & CS
horowitz@ee.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Internet of Everything

Designing a high-efficiency RF power amplifier for plasma generation

Kawin Surakitbovorn

Fellow:

Kawin Surakitbovorn

Advisor:

Prof. Juan Rivas-Davila, EE
jmrivas@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Energy/Power Management Systems

Robot Design and Control Strategies for Lifting and Unloading Heavy Objects in Simulation

William Chong

Fellow:

William Chong

Advisor:

Prof. Oussama Khatib, CS & EE
KHATIB@CS.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Robotics and Autonomous Systems

Experiment Validation of Lifting and Unloading Heavy Objects with Physical Robots

Wesley Guo

Fellow:

Wesley Guo

Advisor:

Prof. Oussama Khatib, CS & EE
KHATIB@CS.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Robotics and Autonomous Systems

Minimal energy wireless sensing and comms

Fellows:

Yinuo Xu

Advisor:

Prof. Tom Lee, EE
tomlee@ee.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Internet of Everything

Capturing human performance from large video databases

Haotian Zhang

Fellows:

Haotian Zhang

Advisor:

Prof. Kayvon Fatahalian, CS
kayvonf@stanford.edu
Prof. Pat Hanrahan, CS & EE
hanrahan@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Compression for VR

Fellow:

Cesar Lema, Brooke Lee Krajancich, & Yuhan Deng

Advisors:

Prof. Tsachy Weissman, EE
tsachy@stanford.edu
Prof. Gordon Wetzstein, EE
gordon.wetzstein@stanford.edu
Prof. Keith Winstein, CS & EE
keithw@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Memory-centric computing

Robert Radway

Fellow:

Robert Radway

Advisor:

Prof. Subhasish Mitra, EE & CS
subh@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Dynamic wavefront control of light with plasmonic metasurfaces

Skyler Selvin

Fellow:

Skyler Selvin

Advisor:

Prof. Mark Brongersma, MSE & Applied Physics
Brongersma@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Dynamic wavefront control of light fields with guided resonators

Johan Carlstrom

Fellow:

Johan Carlstrom

Advisor:

Prof. Mark Brongersma, MSE & Applied Physics
Brongersma@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Polarized and Directional MiniLEDs with plasmic nano antennas

Fellow:

Joao Paulo (JP) Berenguer

Advisor:

Prof. Mark Brongersma, MSE & Applied Physics
Brongersma@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Polarized and Directional MiniLEDs with Mie-resonant nanoantennas

Fellow:

Qitong Li

Advisor:

Prof. Mark Brongersma, MSE & Applied Physics
Brongersma@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

BEOL-Computing Topological Material Interconnects

Xiangjin Wu and Asir Khan

Fellow:

Xiangjin Wu & Asir Khan

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE & MSE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Acoustic Emission Characterization of Thin Films

Katheryn Kornegay

Fellow:

Katheryn Kornegay

Advisor:

Prof. Debbie Senesky, Aero/Astro
dsenesky@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Automatically Extracting Formal Processor Models from Verilog RTL for Scalable Hardware Security Verification

Nicholas Mosier

Fellow:

Nicholas Mosier

Advisor:

Prof. Caroline Trippel, CS & EE
trippel@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Design Productivity

Dynamic control of light fields with tunable metasurfaces

Fellow:

Qitong Li

Advisor:

Prof. Mark Brongersma, MSE & Applied Physics
Brongersma@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Studying circuit design for neuromorphis computing using emerging memory devices

Shuhan Liu

Fellow:

Shuhan Liu

Advisor:

Prof. H.S.Philip Wong, EE
hspwong@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

BEOL-compatible MOCVD of MoS2

Lauren Hoang

Fellow:

Lauren Hoang & Katie Neilson

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE & MSE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Noether Neural Networks (N3)

Fellow:

Sarah Jin Zou

Advisor:

Prof. Tom Lee, EE
tomlee@ee.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Internet of Everything

Lithium-ion battery health diagnosis via EIS

Muhammad Aadil Khan and Sai Thatipamula

Fellow:

Muhammad Aadil Khan & Sai Thatipamula

Advisor:

Prof. Simona Onori, ERE
sonori@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Energy/Power Management Systems

Large language models research

Yifan Mai

Fellow:

Yifan Mai & David Hall

Advisor:

Prof. Percy Liang, CS
pliang@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

System spec fof SOC

Fellow:

Gedeon Kabuya Nyengele

Advisor:

Prof. Mark Horowitz, EE & CS
horowitz@ee.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Design Productivity

High level PPA modeling

Jackson Melchert

Fellow:

Jackson Melchert

Advisor:

Prof. Priyanka Raina, EE
praina@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Design Productivity

Toward 2D-FETs with sub-1 nm EOT

Jung-Soo Ko

Fellow:

Jung-Soo Ko

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE & MSE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Surface engineering for selective hard mask on carbon (DoC)

Maggy Harake

Fellow:

Maggy Harake

Advisor:

Prof. Stacey Bent, MSE/EE/ChemE
sbent@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Formal Methods for Safe Autonomous Systems

Haoze Wu

Fellow:

Haoze (Andrew) Wu

Advisor:

Prof. Clark Barrett, CS
barrettc@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

High-density power converters with Piezo-electric resonators

Fellow:

Weston Braun

Advisor:

Prof. Juan Rivas-Davila, EE
jmrivas@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Energy/Power Management Systems

High-Performance mmWave Edge Sensing Circuits

Nikhil Poole

Fellow:

Nikhil Hegde Poole

Advisor:

Prof. Amin Arbabian, EE
arbabian@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Internet of Everything

Learning to Solve Long-Horizon Tasks

Chris Agia

Fellow:

Chris Agia

Advisor:

Prof. Jeannette Bohg, CS
bohg@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Robotics and Autonomous Systems

STT assisted SOT-MRAM development

William Hwang

Fellow:

William Hwang

Advisor:

Prof. Shan Wang, EE
sxwang@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Thermal material and interface property characterization

Heungdong Kwon

Fellow:

Heungdong Kwon

Advisor:

Prof. Ken Goodson, ME
goodson@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Controlling threshold voltage of two-dimensional transistors

Fellow:

Jung-Soo Ko and Robert Bennett

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE & MSE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Diamond film growth microwave plasma chemical vapor deposition

Anna Kasperovich

Fellow:

Anna Kasperovich

Advisor:

Prof. Srabanti Chowdhury, EE
srabanti@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

3D logic PNR

Carlo Gilardi and Suhyeong Choi

Fellow:

Carlo Gilardi and Suhyeong Choi

Advisor:

Prof. Subhasish Mitra, EE & CS
subh@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Cooling 3D systems with Scaffolding

Dennis Rich

Fellow:

Dennis Rich

Advisor:

Prof. Subhasish Mitra, EE & CS
subh@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Wafer-scale MOCVD growth of two-dimensional transition metal chalcogenides material

Zhepeng Zhang and Anh Tuan Hoang

Fellow:

Zhepeng Zhang and Anh Tuan Hoang

Advisor:

Prof. Andrew Mannix, MSE
ajmannix@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Transfer, defect characterization and transport measurement of two dimensional materials

Lauren Hoang

Fellow:

Lauren Hoang

Advisor:

Prof. Andrew Mannix, MSE
ajmannix@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

RRAM Characterization for Deep Learning

Fellow:

Luke Upton

Advisor:

Prof. H.S.Philip Wong, EE
hspwong@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

 

Archive: