FMA (Fellow-Mentor-Advisor)

SystemX is continuing Stanford’s successful tradition, pioneered by John Linvill, former director of CIS (SystemX’s predecessor) of “FMA” (Fellow-Mentor-Advisor) relationships. A member company supports research by a Stanford Ph.D. student Fellow, who interacts closely with an expert Mentor from the company to conduct advanced research into an area of mutual interest under the guidance of a faculty Advisor. More than 30 years later, FMAs have become the model for university-corporate partnerships. SystemX can set up a new FMA research relationship with any professor at Stanford whose research falls within our general areas of interest.

Last year's FMA students participated in presentations and presented posters at the 2020 Fall Conference. Login is required to view poster PDFs and recordings.

 

Archive:

Current FMA Projects for 2020-2021:

Silicon-based vapor chamber heat spreader design and fabrication

Farid Soroush

Fellow:

Farid Soroush and Chi Zhang

Advisor:

Prof. Ken Goodson, ME
goodson@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Low-Rank Training of Deep Neural Networks for Emerging Memory Technology

Albert Gural

Fellow:

Albert Gural

Advisor:

Prof. Boris Murmann, EE
murmann@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Developing Pono, an open-source hardware model checker

Fellow:

Ahmed Irfan

Advisor:

Prof. Clark Barrett, CS
barrett@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Flat lens and metasurface

Fellow:

Mingkun Chen

Advisor:

Prof. Jonathan Fan, EE
jonfan@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Learning and control on nonlinear coupled dynamical systems

Jonas Messner

Fellow:

Rohan Sinha

Advisor:

Prof. Sanjay Lall, EE
lall@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Mixed-signal circuit design for low-energy machine learning platforms

Fellow:

Hank Yu

Advisor:

Prof. Boris Murmann, EE
murmann@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Internet of Everything

Multi-fidelity ensemble for uncertainty quantification and optimization

Fellow:

Mark Benjamin

Advisor:

Prof. Gianluca Iaccarino, ME
jops@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Designing a high-efficiency RF power amplifier for plasma generation

Kawin Surakitbovorn

Fellow:

Kawin Surakitbovorn

Advisor:

Prof. Juan Rivas-Davila, EE
jmrivas@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Energy/Power Management Systems

Interactive Haptic simulation and robot teleportation

Shameek Ganguly

Fellow:

Shameek Ganguly

Advisor:

Prof. Oussama Khatib, CS
KHATIB@CS.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Robotics and Autonomous Systems

Compression for VR

Fellow:

Shubham Chandak, Brooke Krajancich, and Luke Hsiao

Advisors:

Prof. Tsachy Weissman, EE
tsachy@stanford.edu
Prof. Gordon Wetzstein, EE
gordon.wetzstein@stanford.edu
Prof. Keith Winstein, CS
keithw@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Distributed ray tracing

Brennan Shacklett

Fellow:

Brennan Shacklett

Advisors:

Prof. Kayvon Fatahalian, CS
kayvonf@stanford.edu
Prof. Pat Hanrahan, EE & CS
hanrahan@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Photonics and Quantum Technologies

Memory-centric computing

Fellow:

Robert Radway

Advisor:

Prof. Subhasish Mitra, EE & CS
subh@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

A Python Embedded Hardware Construction Language Designed for Productivity, Performance and Correctness

Fellow:

Leonard Truong and Raj Setaluri

Advisor:

Prof. Pat Hanrahan, EE & CS
hanrahan@cs.stanford.edu

Focus Area:

BEOL-compatible MOCVD of MoS2

Connor Bailey

Fellow:

Connor Bailey

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Studying circuit design for neuromorphis computing using emerging memory devices

Fellow:

Shuhuan Liu

Advisor:

Prof. H.S.Philip Wong, EE
hspwong@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Focusing on the issue of accurate and efficient object segmentation from video sequences

Fellow:

Junyoung Gwak

Advisor:

Prof. Silvio Savarese, CS
ssilvio@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Robotics and Autonomous Systems

The modeling and understanding high frequency losses in SiC and GaN devices

Fellow:

Jia Zhuang

Advisors:

Prof. Juan Rivas, EE
jmrivas@stanford.edu
Prof. Jim Plummer, EE
plummer@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Energy/Power Management Systems

Mixed-Signal Deep Neural Networks

Fellow:

Rohan Doshi

Advisors:

Prof. Boris Murmann, EE
murmann@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

QED Evaluation

Fellow:

Saranyu Chattopadhyay

Advisors:

Prof. Clark Barrett, CS
barrettc@stanford.edu
Prof. Subhasish Mitra, EE & CS
subh@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Design Productivity/Computation for Data Analytics

Low-jitter ADC's using Heterogeneous Integration

Fellow:

Athanasios Ramkaj

Advisors:

Prof. Boris Murmann, EE
murmann@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

High density power converters with Piezo-electric resonators

Fellow:

Weston Braun

Advisor:

Prof. Juan Rivas-Davila, EE
jmrivas@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Energy/Power Management Systems

RRAM Characterization for Deep Learning

Fellow:

Luke Upton

Advisor:

Prof. Boris Murmann, EE
murmann@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Surface engineering for selective deposition

Ilkwon Oh

Fellow:

Ilkwon Oh

Advisor:

Prof. Stacey Bent, MSE
sbent@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Toward 2D-FETs with sub-1 nm EOT

Fellow:

Alwin Daus & Jung-Soo Ko

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Heterogeneous Integration

Boron Nitride and Other Films for Oxidation and Corrosion Protection

Victoria Chen

Fellow:

Victoria Chen

Advisor:

Prof. Eric Pop, EE
epop@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Film deposition, annealing and analysis, including XRD, XPS, and SEM-EDS, plus focus on TGA/DSC with powders

Fellow:

Payton Broaddus

Advisor:

Prof. Olav Solgaard, EE
solgaard@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

Bio and magnetic interfaces

Neeraja Ravi

Fellow:

Neeraja Ravi

Advisor:

Prof. Shan Wang, MSE & EE
sxwang@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Bio Interfaces

Optimal computing organization - 3D vs 2D - for specific computing domains

Guenole Lallement/Massimo Giordano

Fellows:

Guénolé Lallement & Massimo Giordano

Advisors:

Prof. Subhasish Mitra, EE & CS
subh@stanford.edu
Prof. Boris Murmann, EE
murmann@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics

Acoustic Emission Characterization of Thin Films

Chen Liu

Fellow:

Chen Liu

Advisor:

Prof. Debbie Senesky, Aero/Astro
dsenesky@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

AMEND

AIOps Research

Akshay Agrawal

Fellows:

Akshay Agrawal & Shane Barratt

Advisor:

Prof. Stephen Boyd, EE
stephen.boyd@stanford.edu

Focus Area:

Computation for Data Analytics